top of page

Ashkelon, Israel:

My husband and I visited Israel for two weeks. It was so fun and beautiful. Unfortunately, we were not able to rent a car due to being a year behind the age limit, twenty one. Everyday we got up around seven to nine AM and headed out for the whole day. My feet hurt so much from all the walking we did, but in the end it was so worth it. Hopefully next time we visit my husbands home country, we'll be able to rent a car and see even more places without having to bus it and train it. Thankfully my husband speaks Hebrew and Russian, and also grew up in Israel most of his life so we were able to get around just fine. It was pretty cool to see the differences we had while growing up in different countries. I'd definitely visit Israel again. I really loved everything, but the homeless cats. They broke my heart since I'm a huge cat lover. Israel doesn't have Squirrels like America, they have cats. But you see about three squirrels a day versus Israel, where you see about fifteen to twenty cats a day. It is believed that the cats were brought to Israel during the British mandate of Israel to fight off the rats on the ships. My husband told me it's not one of the biggest issues Israel is facing at the moment, so that's why they haven't fixed the issue. There are organizations out there to help the cats and fix them, but while we were there, I had no idea they even had any organizations since there were so many cats needing help. They seem to get fed and loved by the cat ladies, but they still need help, especially from the abusive people who like to torture them. Israel has a lot of history and a lot of cool historical places to visit. I want to say Jerusalem and the Dead Sea were my favorite places we visited. We wanted to visit more, but hopefully next time we wont be limited to the surrounding cities of Ashkelon. I really love that the Israeli's are really friendly and almost every single restaurant we attended had an English menu available. A lot of the Israeli's also spoke perfect English. Just watch out for those heavy accents!

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
No tags yet.
bottom of page